About Us

IADVL DSB is a state branch of the National IADVL. The Delhi State Branch has been one of the main pillars of the National body which today touches a membership close to 7000 members and counting. The IADVL is the most representative organization of the composite discipline of Dermatology, Venreology and Leprosy in India and is recognized worldwide. The members of the Delhi branch and the National IADVL have and continuously are representing Indian Dermatology on a global platform.

Mission of the IADVL DSB

The promotion and advancement of Dermatology, Venereology & Leprology and allied subjects in India.

The creation of public opinion and consciousness in all these different specialties and education of the public in matters relating to the prevention and cure of these diseases in all their aspects and to carry on such publicity as may be found necessary or feasible for attainment of these objects.

The promotion of high standards in clinical practice, education and research through professional fellowship, co-operation and exchange of views amongst members and to uphold their interests


Early years the Milestones

The first branch in Delhi was founded in the year 1955 by Dr. P.N.Behl1, when he was the Chief of Dermatology in the Irwin hospital (now Lok Nayak Jaiprakash Narayan Hospital).

The next landmark was the holding of the First National Conference at Delhi in February 1962 (the fourth after Bombay (Dec 27-28 1947), Calcutta (April 14-15 1951), and Madras (Dec 1956). In this Conference it was decided to merge and affiliate Indian Association of Dermatology and Venereology (IADV) with the Association of Physicians of India (API) and from the year 1963 the combined Conference become an annual feature being held jointly with API.2-4 The aim was that this would provide a greater exposure to the specialty and also give on opportunity (to members of IADV) to interact with the Physicians. This continued till 1974, after which the affiliation was given up and IADV become on Independent body.5 Around the same time a rift going on between IADV and Dermatology Society of India (DSI) was also resolved at a meeting in Udaipur and on Jan 28, 1973 both unanimously agreed on reunification and this amalgamation resulted in the association being named Indian Association of Dermatologists, Venereologists and Leprologists (IADV&L), and the office of the New Association was setup in New Delhi. Dr. B.N.Bannerjee was unanimously appointed the first President of the IADV&L and the first Conference was held at Udaipur Jan 29-31, 1973. The Association was registered under its new name at Varanasi in May 1975.

The establishment of the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) in 1956, under on Act of Parliament in New Delhi, was a conspicuous landmark in the history of Dermatology specialty and of course the Delhi State Branch of IADV&L. In 1960 Dr. K.C.Kandhari was selected to head the first separate department of Dermatology and Vereneology in the Country, which offered an MD Degree in Dermatology and Vereneology. Students from all over India, and even abroad and some senior teachers in their own institutions joined this course, and within a span of 10 years his students occupied senior posts in Dermatology and Vereneology, all over the Country and started running their own independent departments. Thus a teacher became a grand teacher, and then, a great grand teacher and so on with every new generation of students joining the course. Dr. K.C.Kandhari thus attained the status of a father figure and a legend in the specialty of Indian Dermatology.

Dr. K.C.Kandhari founder HOD of Dermatology, AIIMS 1960.

In 1961 the Indian Academy of Medical Sciences (now the National Academy of Medical Sciences), was formed in New Delhi. Distinguished members of different specialties were founding members, Dermatology was represented by Dr. R.V.Rajam, Dr. P.N.Rangiah and Dr. K.C.Kandhari. The other members of Delhi State Branch who have been conferred the fellowship of National Academy of Medical Sciences (NAMS) are Dr. B.M.S.Bedi, Dr. L.K.Bhutani, Dr. J.S.Pasricha, Dr. V.N.Sehgal and Dr. V.K.Sharma. The stage was now set for postgraduate teaching of Dermatology in India and in Delhi. Since then many more Medical Colleges have been recognized for training Post Graduates in Delhi. Chief amongst those being:

  1. Maulana Azad Medical College (MAMC).
  2. Lady Harding Medical College (RMLH).
  3. Ram Manohar Lohia Hospital (RMLH).
  4. University College of Medical Sciences (UCMS).
  5. Safdarjung Hospital (SJH).
  6. Behl Skin Institute.
  7. ESI Post Graduate Institute of Medical Science and Research, Basaidarpur, New Delhi


International Conferences held in Delhi

The first interaction between the IADV&L and the International Society of Tropical Dermatology was held in New Delhi, through an International Conference in 1976 under the theme “Pigmentary Dermatosis”. Dr. P.N.Behl was the President and Dr. L.K.Bhutani its Secretary.

The Delhi Branch also in collaboration with the IADV&L hosted the VII International Congress of Dermatology in New Delhi, Taj Place Hotel from Feb 27 to March 2, 1994. Dr. L.K.Bhutani was the President and Dr. R.K.Pandhi the Honorary Secretary.

33rd National Conference of IADV&L and the 4th South Asian Regional Conference of Dermatology Venereology and Leprosy (SARC) in India was held in Delhi (being the first SARC Conference in India), Ashoka Hotel in Feb 2–6, 2005. The President of the Conference was Dr. V.K.Upadhyaya and Dr. V.K.Garg its Honorary General Secretary, Dr. B.S.N.Reddy was the Chairman of the Scientific Committee.

The IADVL organised the XIth World Congress of International Society of Dermatologyand the 42nd Annual National Conference of IADVL in New Delhi on December 4-7, 2013 at The Ashok Hotel, New Delhi. The grand academic fiesta was held in the majestic city of Delhi and was a huge success, attended by national as well as international delegates


Zonal Conference held in Delhi (Dermazone – North)

In 2008 (Sept. 27-28) Delhi Branch also hosted the first Dermazone (North) combining all states of North zone Delhi, Punjab, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, UP, Uttranchal and J&K. Dr. Ram Chander was its President and Dr. Rishi Prasahar its Secretary, Dr. Sanjiv Kandhari was the Chairman of the Scientific Committee. This conference started a new chapter in the history of North India and is going to be a regular feature Annually of North Zone States of IADV&L. The next conference is to be held in Rohtak (Haryana) in 2009. The Aim of Dermazone – North is to give more chance to PG students and younger Dermatologist to present papers and their research work at a zonal conference, especially those who are unable to travel to the national conference.

The North Zone Video Workshop Of Association Of Cutaneous Surgeons Of India in Delhi was held on Sunday, 13 November 2016 at Hotel Eros, Nehru Place, Delhi